About the faculty

Ghent University was founded in 1817 and the Faculty of Arts and Philosophy was one of the four founding faculties. The Faculty of Arts and Philosophy is a dynamic faculty with 5,000 students, spread across three campuses in close proximity to one another.

The Faculty is managed by the Dean, Professor Gita Deneckere and the Faculty Board. The Dean is assisted by Professor Kristoffel Demoen (Director of Studies), Professor Veronique Hoste (Director of Research), Professor Koenraad Jonckheere (Director of Valorisation) and Professor Gertrudis Van de Vijver (Academic Secretary).

The Faculty is divided in 9 academic departments which offer a wide range of Bachelor’s and Master’s courses within the cluster of Humanities, including Philosophy, Art, History, Languages, Literature and Area Studies. Although the official language of the University is Dutch, many courses are offered in English and in other cases, students receive English course material and alternative forms of assessment. Foreign languages, literature and culture are usually taught in their respective languages. Exchange students can combine courses from different fields or specialize in one particular subject, depending on their interests and the curriculum at their home universities.

Research is carried out by the different departments within the Faculty, which enables the Faculty to be active in a broad range of research areas. Through its research groups, the Faculty wants to contribute to the scientific exploration and further development of its academic disciplines. All research groups, projects and publications of the Faculty’s staff can be found on the Faculty research platform.


Faculty library